Sometimes life accidentally clicks into place and a little bit of magic happens.

I have a favourite street with a favourite time… I love walking down James St early in the morning, on my way to work.

Cyclists whiz past, suits sit outside Kosta’s with their first coffee of the day, tourists stand on the corner of James and Lake St, trying to decide where they’ll have breakfast. Lots of little old men opening up restaurants and watering pavements. A multitude of different people walking toward me in uniforms the colour of the rainbow – Pharmacy Blue, David Jones Black and White, Secretary Red, Tafe Student Yellow.

Today, my ipod decided to create a soundtrack to a walk I’ll never forget. I’m an obsessive ‘shuffler’. I don’t like to plan my music, I prefer the surprises…

David Bowie’s Starman filled my ears, the sights of James st satisfied my eyes and the smell of early morning coffee pleased my nose…

Starman waiting in the sky
He’d like to come and meet us
But he thinks he’d blow our minds
There’s a starman waiting in the sky
He’s told us not to blow it
Cause he knows it’s all worthwhile
He told me:
Let the children lose it
Let the children use it
Let all the children boogie

