I got a letter!

In this “just a minute” society, receiving something that took time to write, take to the post office (in a country where my friend doesn’t speak the language and doesn’t trust the postal system), for it to travel to Perth, be picked up at the post office and placed in my pigeon hole, it feels like a privilege to receive it.

The excitement of tearing open the envelope, having a photo flutter to my feet as I open the pages… seeing my friends hand writing scrawled across goofy foreign stationary… reading his sweet words of support and encouragement… rereading to make sure I hadn’t missed anything.

That’s what’s missing from this fast and furious world we live in – time. Taking the time to make an effort and do something a bit special. Taking the time to enjoy it.

What a great way to start the day.

I’ll have to make sure I reciprocate the favour many many times!

