You know how there are some people who don’t get sick, or when they do, it’s only for a day, but then it’s over?

Not me.

I seem to spend a ridiculous amount of time unwell in bed. This time I’ve completely lost my voice, I have a headache that makes me feel like the back of my head is about to explode and my muscles are literally screaming in pain.

But I’m at work because some days there are just too many things that need to be done, and I’m quickly running out of time to get things done.

No – I’m not a martyr. I hate that person who comes to work, spreading their infections and disease, just to prove they can’t be beaten by illness and they are more committed to work than to health. I’m all about bed and lemon tea when I’m sick. But sometimes you just don’t get the choice!

So I’m keeping myself amused by playing games with myself along the way. When I cough, I try to guess how many people in the office will go “eeewww” (usually all of them – it’s pretty chesty and gross right now).

When I attempt to take phone calls, I see how long it takes before the person on the other end says “helloooo. Is anyone there?” (I’m almost completely silent, except for a few uncontrollable squeaks).

And obviously there’s the sympathy card, because God-damn-it, if I’m going to be sick at work, the least my colleagues can do is be nice and do things for me! So I’m sign language-ing for water, head ache tablets and other treats as often as someone walks past my desk (which is pretty often, cause my desk is near the door).

So it might not be great day, but I think it’s going to be a funny one… Don’t call me, I’ll call you!

