After the sixth day straight of working 13+ hours a day, with more than a week to go till festival (and consequently more late nights working).

After a day of banging my head against a brick wall (not literally) and finding my head full of grey hairs (very much literally).

After missing my bus and realising I haven’t eaten in more than 8 hours, I’m starving and I’ve left my wallet at work.

After feeling the lowest of lows.

One single man managed to make my day the brightest and shiniest possible…

As I ran down the tube stairs and turned the corner onto the platform, the train doors closed – I was less than 5 metres away. I’d missed the bus, and now I’ve missed my train as well…

And the driver looked at me. He smiled at me. Suddenly the train doors opened again and he waved me toward them. A friendly soul. A lovely spirited person. And I rode in his bright red chariot to Kings Cross. And as I got out and glanced over my shoulder to give him a thankful smile for being so kind, he half stood and bowed at me – his arm raised with a flourish.

And I smiled for the first time all day.

As someone more memorable than me once said, “Whoever you are, I have always depended on the kindness of strangers.”   

